Home Sports Wisden Selects Stocks as Cricketer of the Year

Wisden Selects Stocks as Cricketer of the Year

by Tushar Sisodiya

England’s Renowned All-rounder Ben Stocks has been selected as the Cricketer of the year by Wisden and that’s where Stocks ended the strike of India’s run machine Virat Kohli. Kohli has been named as World’s Greatest Cricketer by Wisden three years in a row and Stocks has become the person who just took the crown from him.

Stocks played an important role in winning the world cup for England and Wisden declared him as Wisden Leading Cricketer in the World for 2019.

Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack has rewarded Stocks in it’s 2020 edition for his great performance in last year.

Virat Kohli has made a record of being Wisden Leading Cricketer in the world for last three years respectively, i.e. 2016, 2017 and 2018. Stocks has been rewarded with this honour the very first time. It is also to be noticed that no Indian player has been able to find their place in Wisden’s this year’s list.

Stocks made 821 runs in test matches and 719 runs in one day international in 2019. Wisden said, Ben Stocks performed exceptionally well two times within few weeks. First he saved England with his impeccable performance and luck, while chasing runs in World cup final and then made 15 runs in Super Over as well. Then he played one of the best innings of his career in Headingley in third Ashes test match and helped England to secure it’s victory with one wicket.

Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack has taken that picture on it’s main page where England’s Josh Butler is running out the New Zealand’s Martin Guptill in last year’s World Cup Final. This was the final moment that actually fulfilled the England’s dream of becoming the World Champion of One Day International.

Australis’s All rounder Ellyse Perry has secured her place as Wisden’s Leading Female Cricketer of the year for 2019.

Perry has also been selected in the list of those five cricketers who have been selected as the Cricketers of the year by Wisden. Perry is also one of the three Australians in that list. Perry has also been awarded with this awarded in 2016 as well. According to Wisden, Perry has created such kind of place in Women’s Ashes which has never been seen before.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment